Share: why it’s starting to feel like a dirty word


There seems to be no escaping the news these days.
It surrounds us 24/7 and most of the time I think that it’s good to try to keep up with what is happening in the world.

I say most of the time because there really are times when the best thing I can do is switch off the TV and the iPhone.  My Facebook news feed (as I’m sure is the case for most people at the moment), is full of political articles, news clips, photos of refugees, Muslims and goodness knows what else.

Share. It’s a tiny unassuming word but it’s starting to bother me lately. And here’s why: the one thing that many people fail to realise before they click the share button is that most, if not all of the stuff we see online is propaganda.

News flash…GOVERNMENTS RELY ON OUR COMBINED FEAR IN ORDER TO CONTROL US.

It’s how they justify going to war.  They drip feed us just enough information and then they sit back and watch as we scare ourselves stupid.  Then they can be the heroes that come to our rescue and blow up half the world, all in our name.

We all do it.  Share things on Facebook that is.  We think we are helping to educate our friends.  We think because our really good friend shared something, it must be true.  But we have no way of knowing for sure what’s true and what isn’t.

When you shared that image of the Muslim man with a headline that read WARNING!!! A MAN DRESSED IN A BURKA HAS BEEN ARRESTED OVER A BOMB SCARE IN WATFORD…   did you actually take the time to check out the source of the article or did you just see a picture of a Muslim in handcuffs and assume he MUST be a terrorist and you have to tell the hundreds of people on your friends list about it pronto??

I suspect it was the latter.  My point being that we have no idea about the authenticity of the things we see on social media but that doesn’t stop us from taking it as gospel does it?

A lot of people think that the world is becoming a more dangerous place and whilst it definitely feels that way at the moment, it’s important to remember that there have always been terrorists throughout history.  The only difference is that nowadays the information is shared online in a nano second.  In the olden days, if there was a war on the other side of the world, you wouldn’t know about it for many months until the news reached you by mouth.  And by the time you found out, chances are it was all over.  Someone won and someone lost and the world changed accordingly.  Now we are surrounded morning, noon and night by information and I don’t know about you, but for me, it’s all getting a bit too much.

That doesn’t mean I don’t care.  Quite the opposite.  I am the sort of person who will take on the world’s problems and obsess my way to a nervous breakdown if I’m not careful.  Helplessness will grab hold of me and before I know it, I will be laying in bed fearing my own shadow.

It’s hard not to be affected by recent events but I’ve decided that rather than share articles and images which only really have one aim: to incite fear, I am pledging to only spread positivity and good vibes. I am trying to only share things that I believe are positive articles or images that will uplift and counteract some of the doom and gloom we all feel right now.

If this blog post makes even one person think carefully about what they are sharing on Facebook, then I’ll be a happy bunny.  Too many people share things without taking the time to check out if there is any truth in it.  Google was invented for a reason you know.  Use it!  And if you really must share things of a political/racial nature, ask yourself what you are hoping to achieve by doing so. Do we need more political articles and news clips which make us feel helpless? Wouldn’t it make life a little less depressing if people shared messages of hope rather than despair? I don’t mean to sound heartless and what’s happening in the world cannot be ignored but I know too many people who are rapidly losing any sense of hope and are on the edge of a slippery slope.

It is a scary world we live in at the moment, and whilst you can’t deny what may be happening in other parts of the world, do yourself a favour;  as my mum always says, look outside your own window and be thankful for the view.   And if all else fails, switch off the TV, put down the ipad and pick up a good book.

